CYMA M4 CQB Basic Upgrades

Looking for some advice to upgrade my CYMA M4.

Just the basics I guess like spring etc…??

Don’t know what to change out, never opened it up before, so let me know what basic stuff I should upgrade, specifically if a spring, what type…???..and any exact detail for other parts.

Thanks in advance.

Well, you’ve come to the right place.
@DocBob Take it away.

2 Likes

Go the alloy double o’ring cyl head/nozzle for starters. If staying nylon gears I wouldn’t really go above a m90-m95 spring, mine went for a little while on a spring from a metal wells box at over 300 fps but inevitably stripped.
Simply stretching the original spring will give slightly higher fps.
Double check your return spring as it may need to be replaced or made slightly shorter.
Get good seals first👍

1 Like

I know my time with the CYMA M4 was very interesting. Some things at the time had to be proprietary if you wanted to do the easy mod, but I was a newb and we had stores in SA in those days :joy:
I would agree with BMD, nylon gears do not last long if you go to heavy on the spring tension, I think I will have to dig through my photos and notes. I reckon I used an M100 with the nylon piston assembly and head with a green "O"ring, I also used a CYMA alloy head/nozzle, and a silly 7.1 barrel at 35cm. That later changed to a 7.3mm… :joy: not so squeazy. I still have this gerabox assembly and it is slated for another modified build.

So, this is my first ever modern Gel Blaster, I decided I wasn’t going to be paying some shop to do something I figured I could do and pay a fortune for it as well. Most of the people here were my inspiration and a huge driving force to do this. They had the patience for a new guy asking many dumb questions.