Jm gen 8 m4A1 Handguard

Im pretty new to airsoft and i want to put a better looking handguard on my jm gen 8 m4a1 do i have to use a handguard thats for a gel blaster or would i be able to buy a full metal handguard for a airsoft gun i know probably a dumb question but can anyone give me some insight about exterior mods thanks

1 Like

Hold fire on that @DocBob knows this. The JM is not standard size as a/s models.

No, you need to use an adaptor for that.

Threaded handguards won’t fit it, but I believe the split screw champ jobbies do.

1 Like

Yeah definitely need on of those adapters @Jondgb , but I also found that I actually had to make them a stronger fit onto the front of the Gen8 receiver by using longer grub screws and drilling small depth holes into the old twist guard boss in line with the grub screws in the adapter.

The original adapter relies on short grub screws to “pressure fit/grip” onto the end of the receiver, which I wasn’t comfortable/confident that it was enough clamping force to be able to firmly hold the handguard in place :frowning:

By drilling through into the receiver nylon itself and then fitting long grub screws through the holes in the adapter, it locked it in place as solidly as physically possible and never had any issues with them :ok_hand:

Another method I tried earlier in the piece was to machine up an Aluminium sleeve that was a press fit over the end of the old twist lock protrusion to add further strength to the assembly, but also had to make sure that everything was able to be disassembled and removed to be able to split the gearbox to be able to work on it as well :thinking:

1 Like

It was probably the biggest drawback with the Gen 8 M4 design, that bayonet style handguard and buffer tube attachment.

Which is why I riverdanced when JM introduced us to the Gen 9 with threaded receiver and screw on buffer tube.

1 Like