Retailer Warranty

So my GBX has a broken trigger. Retailer says it’s out of warranty (3 months) as I bought it 8 months ago.

Does anyone know what is the legal requirement for retailer warranty expiry time…??

I thought there was a consumer law that 12 months had to be guaranteed on Australia consumer products??

Gel blaster retailers make up their own rules. It could be pursued, push them to accept responsibility for the quality of their products. They rely on 99% of consumers to do nothing.
Most reputable retailers will help you out. Some just don’t offer much or any afyer sales support.

1 Like

i’m not a lawyer, but i agree, the industry seems to run, on the premise of people “just accepting” their statement, that you only have a 1 month, 3 month warranty etc.

Most people accept that, do nothing else, and walk away.

If you wanted to push it, make a complaint through DOFT.
Ask what consumer laws legally covers, get their response in email, and take that to the store. They may change the stores response.

If they refuse, it comes down to, what is the next legal step in the process to escalate ( i’m not sure), how much does it cost, and what are the legal risks involved ( i.e paying other parties legal fees if you lose). Tribunals are free.

Like I said, im no lawyer, it doesn’t hurt to ask DOFT, let us know your response, and how you go.

On a personal level, its ridiculous we spend $600+ on an item, only to be told it has a 1/3 month warranty…shows how little faith retailers have, in the long term durability, of their "medinchina"wares…

2 Likes

That’s an unfortunate situation to have the trigger break, but is probably the most common failure point of any model blaster simply due to use/wear/tear and not particularly robust designs.