Cyma M4A1 CQB upgrades

Don’t know if it has been already posted but I am wondering what upgrades I should do on my cyma, I know that there are gears and springs and metal v2 gear boxes but what fits? I am a beginner and this is my first blaster and I have no idea what I am doing. Help.

Basically every Gelblaster is exactly the same when it comes down to the standard upgrades that are required, regardless of model or brand name.

Check out this video and apply the same parts and checks to get your CYMA up to the basic levels of performance :ok_hand:

*** EDIT *** Do not ever fit a metal tappet plate into a Gelblaster no matter whatever anyone says!

As a newbie to modding, I’d put gears on the backburner for a while and get your chops up with some easy mods first. Assuming your running nylon gears now (in the orange nylon gearbox), you can get pretty decent performance by looking at some basic areas to improve.

Those boxes are pretty good standard, and it’s advisable to take care of any airseal issues before anything else. Easy to do with upgraded parts. Swapping out the factory piston o ring to a better green or brown o ring and replacing the nylon cylinder head and nozzle with upgraded alloy o ring items should improve compression substantially.

Add a bit more oomph by changing the piston spring over from 1.1mm to a 1.25 unequal spring. You could use an M90 or M100 spring, but the unequal spring will be gentler on your nylon gearset. Your CYMA will easily handle 11.1v lipos, so should be snappy enough for a first blaster.

Those mods should see your CYMA hitting around the 280FPS mark and should be reliable and last a while. I wouldn’t dabble with metal gearsets just yet. The benefit is you can run stronger springs for more FPS but they require correct setting up and shimming. Get it wrong and you run the risk of destroying your gearbox or worse, causing a lipo meltdown because of a seized gearbox and potentially losing your entire blaster.